Compare

EasyEditPDF vs Smallpdf: edit PDF text online

Smallpdf changes existing text on its paid Pro plan; EasyEditPDF does it for free, for files under 5 MiB (25 MiB on Pro) edited on a computer.

Drop a PDF here

or

PDFs under 5 MiB (25 MiB on Pro), up to 100 pages. No sign-up needed to try.

FeatureEasyEditPDFSmallpdf
Edit existing PDF textYes, free. Downloading the edited PDF needs a free account with a confirmed email address.Yes, on the paid Pro plan (with a 7-day free trial). The free account can add text, images, highlights and drawings.
Free limitsFiles under 5 MiB and up to 100 pages; 3 exports a month on a free account.A daily task and download limit; the number is not stated on the pricing page. File size and page limits not stated.
Scanned PDFs (OCR)No. Scanned pages cannot be edited.Yes, on Pro.
PlatformsIn a desktop browser with nothing to install. Not on phones or touch-screen tablets.In the browser with nothing to install, plus mobile apps for Android and iOS.
File retentionFiles uploaded without an account are kept for one day from upload; on a free account, kept for 7 days from upload, or from when the file moved into your account. Backups are covered in the privacy policy.Files used with the free tools are deleted after one hour; files in an account are kept until you delete them.

Checked against each product’s own pages on . Plans and limits change; prices are left to their sites. Product names are trademarks of their owners; EasyEditPDF is not affiliated with them.

Choose Smallpdf if

  • Your PDF is scanned and needs text recognition (OCR) first.
  • You want OCR and the other Pro tools, and a paid plan suits you.
  • You want to edit on your phone.

Choose EasyEditPDF if

  • Changing the words already in a PDF is free here, without a trial; downloading needs a free account.
  • It suits a file under 5 MiB (25 MiB on Pro), corrected on a computer.

How to edit text in a PDF · Scanned PDFs · Redaction · All comparisons

Try it on your own PDF

Drop a PDF here

or

PDFs under 5 MiB (25 MiB on Pro), up to 100 pages. No sign-up needed to try.